The Writing Process

The Writing Process

By delina hill

Now that I have written & published my own book, Revealing & Healing: 3 Women’s Stories of Survival I get questioned by a lot of other authors on ‘how’ to write a book and about the writing process as a whole. The best advice I can give any author is to…WRITE. Set a goal each week & write. If you are going to write for 20 minutes a day, let it be that.  Set a plan and stick to it. Writing a book to completion is no easy feat. My book was also co-written by Rhasha Hoosier & Angenita Childs so I had to keep in mind that it was just not my creativity that I was working with, but with goals and expectations we were able to have a complete project in a year.

Looking back now it’s kind of funny because Rhasha gave me a draft (and when I say draft, I do mean draft) J lol She told me her story was complete and that she would just wait on Angenita and I to complete our parts. I read over it and giggled. I politely told her that she was going to have to put more into it than that. If our purpose of the book is to help others who are in drastically hard situations feel they are not alone, she was going to have to be a little more detailed in her delivery. With that being said she delivered with flying colors.

It was so fulfilling to me to work with these two remarkably talented women. Usually women don’t get along that well in a tight knit working environment, we had our few struggles, but I wouldn’t change them for the world. The message and purpose was far greater than any personal issues we encountered. I have been so blessed to even have the opportunity to be apart of this process from beginning to end. We actually started out with five authors, for various reasons two fell off, we picked up another two who fell off leaving the original three with is exactly how it should’ve been to begin with. We set a goal of every Sunday we all had to have submitted something towards our stories. After the story line was complete we stayed up loooooong hours reading over the phone to make sure everything looked, flowed and sounded right as well as proof reading. I don’t know of anyone else who would stay up until three or four o’clock in the morning working and then have to be up by six am to go to work and school. We are all married, have children, work full time and go to school full time.

Towards the end of the writing processes we discovered that we were more than just one time authors. We all have our strengths in the media field. Rhasha who attended Indiana University and received her Bachelors of Arts in English and Journalism as well as singing and writing songs, Angenita who attended IUPUI who received her Bachelors of Arts in English and Creative Writing, who is also gifted in the film media, and myself Delina, who has always written stories and excelled in music and have toured, and work with many major and local artist and musicians. Thus forming the multi-media company Lioness Vizions.

Today I just realized that our book has been out for six months and is doing VERY well. We have more books in us and will be looking to publish other authors soon. We also are working on some music projects as well as a few film projects.

To all aspiring authors, if you want to be a writer or author, JUST DO IT. Everyday write something. Set a goal and stick to it. Our schedule was hectic, but if we Lionesses can do it…then so can you.

Happy writing!

delina

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

