Transition-by Delina Hill-Brooker

Transition-A passage from one state, stage, subject or place to another, change, movement, development or evolution from one stage or style to another.

That describes exactly how I feel today. I am in transition on many different levels. From my personal growth and learning who I am, what I thought I wanted and discovering the new found wants and needs. In my marriage, we are in transition we just celebrated our 7-year wedding anniversary. WOW now 10 years ago I did NOT see that coming. In my business (Lioness Vizions) we are in transition to a new level. We started our first project (Revealing & Healing: 3 Women’s Stories of Survival) two years ago. BEFORE WE STARTED Lioness Vizions!!! And the progress we’ve made in such a short amount of time is AMAZING. Our individual household dynamics have even changed as well as our business roles. Even my role as a mother is changing. My oldest is about to enter High School. He’s making me remember some of the silly and stupid things I did at his age just because I didn’t think first. Our conversation has changed. He’s changing. He’s no longer the little boy that I have to watch over his every move. My middle child is starting Kindergarten; my baby is going to a new daycare. Everyone in around me, we are all going through a transition together and by ourselves. I’ve always known that when ‘IT’ happens, it will all happen at once. I really feel that’s where I am now.

It feels a little weird, but I’ll take it. The awkwardness is only awkward because it’s different and new. If I want to embrace my future I have to embrace the change, because my past is NOTHING like I want my future to be. So it’s almost like I’m fighting myself because the ‘comfortable’ way is the old way, the new way is not uncomfortable, but it’s out of my comfort zone.

Before I decided to move to Georgia a friend of mine told me, “If you do what you’ve always done, you’ll get what you’ve always got.” She probably doesn’t remember telling me that, but it has stuck with me for all of these years. Back then I wanted a change in my life, on all levels, professionally, physically, emotionally and spiritually. That was ten years ago. So much has happened within these ten years I look back and I amaze myself. The people who were good for me are still here or have re-entered into my life. The people that were no good for me are…gone.

You see life has a way of working itself out – if you let it. But you’ve got to be willing to go through the transitions.

Happy transitioning!

3 comments so far

  1. Denitra on

    I can say the same for me! I love my husband dearly and in January we will have celebrated our 20th Anniversary! For the past 2 years or so, I have been really dealing with myself, who I “think” I am and what I “think” I want and it has been a sobering experience. I have had to look at why did I marry the man I married, what were my motives of what I expected him to do and be and how I expected our lives to turn out. I realized I was more selfish than I had wanted to admit, I was a novice in areas where I thought I had it all together, I was wounded in places I thought were healed, and I was in some ways, still a child looking to be perfectly loved. Unfortunately, I missed the true concept of that love when I was younger, well….maybe not missing it totally but not understanding what it really meant and how to apply it to my everyday life. I began that search a few years ago, to find who I really am. I decided to stop hiding from someone who would always be there with me….myself. I decided to look in the mirror and not see the picture I painted for myself, that deceptive picture that shows how all together you are, how well defined you are, how perfect you are in one area or another…no, I decided to look at the real me. Hurt, tired, frustrated that my life was not picture perfect as I had falsely believed through my own forms of self deception.
    Well, it has been a serious transition since. Defining who you by what you have portrayed for years and have made true in your own mind and being truly defined through the Word of God are two totally different things. Accepting what you have made yourself to be (or what others have said you are) vs. believing, accepting, and receiving what you are by faith in Christ (and what, who, and how He says you are, to say the least are two different things.) But as I had decided to let go of my own way and receive Christ’s way, I have grown up in leaps and bounds. I have faced my fears (some I didn’t know I had…or didn’t recognize them as fears). I have empowered my children, I have confronted my loved ones.
    Every area I thought would go sour because of my new boldness, assuredness, and relentless efforts to be free from the bondages in my own mind and will were not meet with that outcome at all. Quite the opposite actually. My spouse respected and honored me in new ways (in some area things that were on my impossible list (no joking, I literally have a list of things I think are impossible and God continues to whip something off that list when I least expected). I have a new respect and hope within, blessings have been coming my way, my business in being defined and I’m not being defined by my business. And yes, the transition is so sure and new I found myself yesterday being puzzled on how to feel, think, and act. My husband asked what’s wrong I couldn’t appropriate answer him as my mind was deciphering what it was. That morning the Lord had given me Isaiah 43:19 that said, “Behold, I will do a new thing now it shall spring forth; shall ye not know it? i will even make a way in the wilderness, and rivers in the desert.” I said, “Lord today I admit I can’t believe that!” “I have so much going on, I don’t know how to live in this transition, things are not in order for me, I have bills that need to be paid.” “Today, I can only see the past and evaluate my future on it.” I know I shouldn’t but I do. He gave me the scripture again and I shook my head, closed my bible and thanked Him for the time we shared that morning.
    Later in the day, God proved his Word to me! My husband did things he had never done before, things that I had long desired to do and stopped requesting because I know you don’t have the power to change any body so I figured I’d just change myself. But you know what…the heart of the king is in the hand of God and he turns it which way he chooses. My husband and I have found a renewed respect for one another, a stronger bond during the tough times, and connection that will remain even when our children are gone, and a deeper love and respect for our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.
    Years ago when my oldest children were about 3 or 4 years old, they were playing at a friends house. She had twins and our children were happily playing while the adults talked in the den. Suddenly, my son ran into the den, wide eyed, arms outstretched and violently waving, while yelling this phrase at the top of his lungs before doing a 180 only to dart out as fast as he came in. “They are scaring me…AND I LIKE IT!
    I often say that to God, as I go through the pitfalls, hills, valleys, and mountains. “God your scaring me…AND I LIKE IT!” Thank you God, the Transition will bring me out on your side!

  2. Angel on

    I AM SO Happy for you!!! God is not good he is great : -). I am so motivated after reading this. Thanks sis, I needed to hear this. I am currently battling with some things that are going on right now b/c I am scared of changed but I need to just get out there and do it like you did with a great plan (like you did, of course) and see where God takes me. Love ya and love this note. I am so proud to say I KNOW DELINA BROOKER lol 😀 love ya!

  3. Joe Neely Jr. on

    What a thoughtful and refreshing piece. I so admire your writings. I am just starting to read your book, and I must say, I am really enjoying.

    I love your work ladies. You all are a breath of fresh air.

    Be blessed.


Leave a Reply

