The News A Necessary Evil by Delina Hill-Brooker

I used to come home from work, turn on the news at 5pm and watch it while I cooked dinner, helped with homework until it went off until 7pm. One day my oldest son asked me, “Mom, why do you what the news all day? All they are doing is repeating the same thing.” I thought about it, he was right. Why am I giving two hours of my day to stories about people getting robbed, killed, kidnapped, terrorists, political fighting, unfit parents, unruly adolescents blah, blah, blah, blah the list goes on. With all that being said, there’s the flip side. Yep, there’s always a flip side. In order for us to change the situations and things going on around us, we HAVE to know what’s going on. Unfortunately this makes the news a necessary evil. Even in the days before internet, radio, TV people were yearning to know the latest of what was going on. During the Civil War no matter which side they were on the Confederates needed to know what the Union was doing and vice versa. Both sides needed to know which side won which battles, and if and when the war would be over.

After my son brought this to my attention I immediately cut down my news watching time no more than 30 minutes. It was still a part of my routine. Now that I work from home, I’m kind of out of the norm. I’m not on the same schedule as before. I don’t turn on the TV as soon as I get up to hear of all the things that went wrong while I was sleeping, and I don’t catch the news in the evenings or night. Even though I can’t avoid it all together because there are updates on the radio, Facebook and Twitter I make it my business to not make it a habit to watch it religiously. I catch what I can when I can. Now don’t get me wrong I know that knowledge is power. And although the man I voted for, is in office, and it’s not time for the Presidential election yet; there’s a lot of people who don’t want him there. I have to be informed NOW so that when election time comes I can make the right INFORMED decision when it is time. It’s a never ending cycle and a necessary evil.

I wish that there were more good positive stories to tell to help balance out all of the bad stuff. It seems like they only announce good things that happen during the holidays or after a disaster. Even though the world we live in is polluted with craziness, I still think that there is more good than bad. Wouldn’t it be nice to just focus on that for a change? *Deep sigh*

All of that brings me to this morning. I hadn’t watched the news in about two weeks. I woke up, turned the news on and watched 15 minutes of foolishness, but hey what can I say? At least I’m informed. :/

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

