Sweet 16 by Delina Hill-Brooker

This week my ‘baby’ boy turned 16. Yeah, yeah, yeah I know boys don’t have a sweet 16, but it’s sweet to me. Why you ask? Because when I was 16 I was giving birth to him. I was scared out of my mind because I didn’t know WHAT would come of my life with this new tiny creature that I was responsible for. When I was 16, I felt alone. I knew that I had to conquer the world, but I didn’t know how. I couldn’t see life past that time. It felt like I would be a single 16 year old girl trying to juggle school, work, motherhood and life forever.

Looking at him at his age hits me like a ton of bricks; Oh that’s what everyone meant when they said I was too young to have a baby. When I was 16 I didn’t feel that young. I was almost grown right? Mmmhmm.

I look at my son now and I am so proud. I’m proud of him and I’m proud of me. He’s such an awesome kid. I know everyone says their child is awesome, but mine really is. He’s super smart, mega talented, well rounded, and he’s very well mannered. His work ethic is intense. Occasionally I joke about him being false advertisement because when I tell you I’ve never had any ‘problems’ out of him I mean it. As a child he never kept me up at odd hours of the night, or got into fights, talked back to teachers or me. Just normal little kid stuff, but nothing crazy, I don’t know of too many kids who are as ‘naturally’ good like him. I’m proud of me because I weathered the storm. He FORCED me to want to do better. I wanted a better life for him and a good father in his life. I wanted him to know better than I did with some of the stupid decisions that I’ve made. Sometimes when I tell him some of my adolescent stories, he laughs and says, “Um Mom, that doesn’t sound too smart. I would never do that.” I just laugh and tell him, “It was dumb, that’s why you always have to think before you act.”


When we first moved to Georgia he was four years old. My friends’ mother who was an elementary school teacher saw him drawing on some paper. She told that he draws with so much detail. She said for me to never give him another coloring book and to only give him blank paper. She explained that giving him paper with lines would hinder his artistic development. I did just that and today he’s become a REMARKABLE artist. He plans on going to SCAD (Savannah College of Art & Design) to study to be a multimedia artist. He’s also in the drum line in is schools marching band. He’s a great big brother and he’ll always be my baby.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I can’t wait to see what else life has in store for him. I love you DeVon Michael Beasley! Keep up the good work!

 

1 comment so far

  1. Rae on

    Okay Delina this story bought tears to my eyes, what a remarkable story. I have to agree a wonderful, smart, handsome young man he is. He is a great kid and he deserve what ever comes his way! Happy Bday DeVon from me and Mr. Anthony! (your old neighbors) 🙂

    Rae


Leave a Reply

