2011

 

2011 was my year of faith and transition and a lot of firsts. The last time I remember my whole year being a faith walk and transition was in 2000. God has taken me and my family in multiple (what seems to be crazy) directions this year, but I know they’ve all been for a reason. I’ve also experienced modern day miracles. I have prayed more than I can remember as well as dreamed more and meditated to hear from God. His voice has never been more clear. Now I’m still far from a perfect saint, and I’ve always had faith and believed in Him; but this year He has taken me through some things that proved and reminded me that it could ONLY be ‘pulled off’ by Him.

I have spent so much time with my husband and children this year it’s amazing. For the first time in at least eight years both my husband and I were able to be home with the children for the week of Christmas. Usually only he was able to get off of work. To just be able to hang together for an extended time and ENJOY each other is a blessing. I think we sometimes forget how precious quality family time is. These moments are not promised or guaranteed. It’s not about the gifts or going somewhere. We’ve PLAYED board games, video games, danced, wrestled, watched movies, laughed, cooked, stayed up late and slept in.

Looking back on 2011 I’ve learned a lot, mostly about myself. I’ve discovered new strengths and unknown weaknesses. I’ve made it clear in my mind of what I want in my life. I’ve meditated on it and God and I have already talked about it…it’s mine for the taking. 😀

I haven’t made any new years resolutions. Mostly because as soon as I see something about myself that I don’t like or want different in my life I just do it. I know that 2012 is going to be TOTALLY AWESOME. (in my valley girl voice) lol

I can’t wait to look back in 365 days and see how great God has blessed me.

Cheers to the new year! God bless.

~ Delina

2011 was a year that I will never forget. I don’t think I’ve ever felt so many different emotions within a twelve month period.

It’s been a hardworking year for me. I held two jobs for about eight months, did editing on the side, stayed up with my Lioness Vizions work, helped push Revealing & Healing: 3 Women’s Stories of Survival into the library systems of Memphis, TN, and Indianapolis, witnessed the birth of a grandchild, mourned over the violent and sudden death of a younger cousin, reunited with my dad’s side of the family, opened my eyes to more than I could ever dream of, and most of all, allowed me to be me.

It’s been a rough road, but I can say that 2011 was a productive struggle, and my light is right over the horizon. My journey to self discovery and even more confidence blossomed this year. I’ve become stronger and more focused on my goals, and how I want to live my life. I’ve been tremendously blessed. Through it all, God has given me a new lease on life, and I’m taking it one day at a time.

What can I say? In order to get to your destination, you gotta travel, even if your road is lumpy, bumpy, full of stop signs and pot holes, contains several detours, and closed roads. It’s all worth it in the end.

Bye Bye 2011! Hello 2012!

Happy New Year.

~Angenita

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

