Springtime Renewal by Angenita Williams-Childs

Springtime marks the time when I get a little older in this journey called life. Most years, I celebrate with a going out, party hard, having a few drinks with friends and family. This year was different. I just wanted to be alone. I just wanted to hear the silence surround me as I enjoyed the unusually warm temperatures and beautiful sunshine. The rays felt good as I drove around listening to Anthony Hamilton, Jill Scott, Marsha Ambrosius, Jaheim, Mariah Carey, and Wale.

I thought about where I want to be in life and how close I am to getting there. I thought about those who loved me on my journey, and those who hurt me. I thought about those who lied to me, and those who were truthful to me. I thought about the goodness in life, and the rough patches. I thought about those family members, Nita, Anthony, Grandma, Shirley, Fred, George, Cathy, MaKyla, Grandpa, that I’ve lost within the last few years, and how I wish I could just see them once more. I thought about the wrongs I’ve done, and the rights that corrected them. In essence, I reflected on me, and my purpose.

I wondered where I would be had I not did this or that. I wondered how my life would be if I stayed that little country gal. I wondered how my life would be if I came out of my shell just a tad more. I came to the conclusion that I need to live and experience the joys in life more. Find even more solace in the small things that make my heart soar. Take joy in just marveling at the wonder of the newness of spring. Allow the rebirth of the Earth to also elicit rebirth in me. Isn’t that what birthdays are about?

1 comment so far

  1. Monyikka on

    This is so peaceful.


Leave a Reply

