Storms by Delina Hill-Brooker

When I was a child I used to be terrified of storms. I didn’t want anything to do with rain, thunder or lightning. I felt that the safest place in the world for me to be was right smack dab in the middle of my parents bed snuggled in between them.

Now that I am an adult, sometimes I look forward to a good storm. The rain is soothing and the thunder can have somewhat of a calming effect and the lightning, well call me weird, but the lightning to me is a representation that God is still there in the midst of the storm. And even though lightning can destroy some things, sometimes that is what is needed.

Yesterday my four year old daughter and I were in the car. You could tell by the dark clouds in the sky that it was going to storm. Luckily for me, she fell asleep before it started. Just like her mother was, she is scared of storms. While driving through the storm it got me to thinking how I wasn’t afraid of storms anymore. I’m no longer afraid of the physical or the metaphoric storms. Sometimes we have to go to storms to get to the next level. Sometimes we have to go through storms to appreciate the sunshine. Sometimes it seems like the sunshine is so much brighter then it was before the storm…oh that’s just me? Ok. 🙂

No matter what kind of storm it is, whether it is a natural or metaphoric storm, God is there. He is your protector and comforter, like being right smack dab in the middle of your parents’ bed. A storm can cause you to have a leaky roof, a flooded basement or an aching heart, but God is still in the midst of the storm. A bad storm can have a surrendering effect on you. You can’t stop it or control it; all you can do is try to stay afloat and trust that everything will turn out alright.

I’m thankful for my new outlook on storms. No, I don’t try to be a heroine and run into storms, but I’m no longer afraid. I do not and will not back down. Once you have survived any storm, you are exactly that, a survivor.

No matter what you had to go through, or what you lost, there’s always a rainbow and a promise after any storm.

“Life is not about waiting for the storm to pass, it is about learning to dance in the rain.” – Vivanne Grenne

2 comments so far

  1. Trisha on

    Your correct once you have been through the storm you truly appreciate the son shine. 🙂 This was a excellent read. Very Good.

  2. Akudo Ehirim on

    Every cloud has a silver lining in it. Morning must surely come after every night, and what goes up must surely come down. Every storm must surely pass because God who has called you is faithful and He will keep that which has been commited into His mighty hands.

    Beautiful read!!!
    Akudo


Leave a Reply

