Control & Faith Falling by Delina Hill-Brooker

Hebrew 11:1 Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.

One thing I am learning about myself is that I’m somewhat of a control freak. Even if it’s something that I am not physically handling myself, if someone is helping me do something and they don’t do it exactly how I thought they should do it I cringe on the inside. I try to control it so that it doesn’t show on the outside, because the rational side of me knows that there are multiple ways to complete the same task. *sigh*

Why is it that we feel that we actually have control of anything? When we really don’t have control of ourselves. If one thing is off internally, it throws everything else off. Not to mention all of the outside forces that have nothing to do with us, yet still affect us. While we constantly struggle to control what we can’t control, when we finally let go, it’s so much easier. Even if the thing you are trying to control doesn’t go your way, you’re no longer playing tug of war with it because you let it go. Isn’t that a much easier option?

 Image

If we are constantly trying to control our environment that means we have little to no faith. If you believe, like I believe that ALL things work together for good and for the glory of God; you know that even if a particular situation that didn’t turn out exactly how YOU wanted it to go, it still worked out for the best. And in a round about kind of way, you’ll get what was meant for you, and it could possibly be better than what you envisioned in your head, under your control.

I’ve decided to start living life with a faith fall mentality. I’m letting go, and letting God. Relinquishing all control, and having faith that everything is going to turn out even better than what I could’ve wanted for myself.

“Flow with whatever is happening and let your mind be free. Stay centered by accepting whatever you are doing. This is the ultimate.” ~ Chuang Tzu

Photo courtesy of http://www.FreeDigitalPhotos.net

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

