Seasons by Delina Hill-Brooker

My favorite seasons of all seasons are spring and summer. Fifty and sixty degrees feel so good when you are coming out of the single digits. The blossoming of the flowers, the greening of the grass is such a marvelous work. And the fact that you get to leave your windows open for a nice natural breeze is to me a gift from God. The only downside would be the thick layer of pollen that sits on the cars, mailboxes, streets and literally everything under the sun. But ever since I moved to Georgia the pollen has absolutely no effect on me so I actually don’t mind that either. 😀

Let’s talk about summer. I love not having to check the weather to see what I’m going to wear, which usually a tank top, capris, and flip flops. If I want to be cute a sundress will do. I keep our air conditioner at 78 degrees for several reasons. 1. To save money on energy cost. 2. I don’t like being cold, I just want the heat out of the air.  When I am in a building away from home I usually have to keep a sweater or jacket with me to keep from freezing and when I walk back outside I love the feeling of ‘thawing out.’ The only downside to that is, my active children love and have to be outside for their extracurricular activities. Which would also mean that I have to be outside too, which could end up being 4 to 5 hours a day. And not to mention you have to take multiple showers a day to not be icky-sticky-stinky.  But still aside from all of the mutant, Georgia bugs, I really don’t mind summer. I’d much rather be hot than cold.

Which brings us to fall and winter. *Le sigh, le sigh* Let me tell you, I was so happy when the scorching heat died down enough for me to turn OFF the AC. Especially after the children being home in the peak season of summer, the AC was constantly going and it seemed as if keeping the thermostat at 78 was like it being on 90, the children were watching TV, playing video games and for whatever reason leaving lights on when it was broad daylight outside…I digress. We had a few mild days that I was happy to embrace. I could wear a tank top, T-shirt, shorts or pants, either way it was comfortable. It felt good to sleep with the bedroom window open. It was just enough chilly mixed with just enough warm under the covers to be perfect. But when I woke up this morning and went to get out of bed there was an instant stinging sensation on my foot. So I quickly pulled it back up under the covers. I reached my arm out to turn off the alarm, same deal. Oh my God, it’s cold! I said to myself. Fall didn’t ease itself on in. It barged in and took over. And although I am excited for the brief moment of lower electric and almost zero gas bills, I think I’m going to have to pull out my old trusty space heater just to survive the mornings. Oh and not to forget November 4th we get to fall back and gain an extra hour of sleep. (We can always use more sleep right?)

I’m a brat. I know it, and I’m ok with that. If it were 70 to 80 degrees year round with no hurricanes, tornadoes, earthquakes, mudslides, torrential rain or floods; that’s where I’d want to be. The older I get, the more I learn to appreciate each season for what it offers. Fall/Winter brings about celebrations, family visits, Thanksgiving, Christmas and that warm fuzzy feeling that never gets old. Spring/Summer brings about the feeling of renewal, new beginnings, traveling, and fun times without a care. Isn’t that how life is? I guess it’s a part of the bigger picture of balance. If we stayed neutral all of the time, we wouldn’t learn the lessons of the lows or appreciate the highs.

Ecclesiastes 3:1-11 1 For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven: 2 a time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up what is planted; 3 a time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up; 4 a time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance; 5 a time to cast away stones, and a time to gather stones together; a time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing; 6 a time to seek, and a time to lose; a time to keep, and a time to cast away; 7 a time to rend, and a time to sew; a time to keep silence, and a time to speak; 8 a time to love, and a time to hate; a time for war, and a time for peace. 9 What gain has the worker from his toil? 10 I have seen the business that God has given to the sons of men to be busy with. 11 He has made everything beautiful in its time; also he has put eternity into man’s mind, yet so that he cannot find out what God has done from the beginning to the end.

2 comments so far

  1. Rae on

    Great read….keep up the good work!

    Rae


Leave a Reply

