Nostalgia by Delina Hill-Brooker

 

 

I remember when I was growing up; I would sing the latest songs and do the latest dances. My mother would always say things like, “That’s not real music. Back in my day we would do the Mash Potato and the Twist.” I’d roll my eyes and laugh as she would reenact her favorite dances while singing and making funny faces as if she were really jammin’. “One day you’ll understand” she’d say.

I find myself doing the same thing with my children now. Not so much the little ones, but my oldest is almost 17 and the epitome of all things cool. I was driving him home from band practice and Come & Talk to Me the remix by Jodeci came on. Instantly I was back in high school singing along with K-Ci, harmonizing with the group, had my jammin’ face on, snapping my fingers, pointing at myself then to the invisible person that I was singing to… “Come and talk to me I really wanna meet you girl, I really wanna know your name. Ohhhhh Come and talk to me I really wanna meet you girl I really wanna know your name.” My too cool son was looking at me as if it were some sort of horrific site to behold and calmly said, “You’re turning into Nana.” Instantly I stopped and gave him the same mortified look.

At that moment all I could hear is her voice saying, “One day you’ll understand.” It replayed in my head over and over again. “Boy, this is real music right here! There aren’t too many artists that can still sing and perform like this. You are sitting here listening to this wack music, your generation knows nothing about good music.” I stopped. The voice that was speaking sounded too eerily familiar. Oh my God, I sound like my mom. OH NO I AM TURNING INTO MY MOM. But it’s true, with the exception of a handful of newer artists, they are lacking real music and are lyrically broken. But if this were the case, then what my mother used to say about our generations music was true too.

I ran the music of the 90’s through my head for some questionable songs. The first wack song that popped in my head was B Girls by Young & Restless; then Just a Friend by Biz Markie, The Thong Song by Sisqo…uh oh we did have some crazy pointless songs that we just loved.

But there were so many greats! Tell Me by Groove Theory, Hey Mr. DJ by Zhane, Nuthin’ But A G Thang by Dr. Dre, Mind Playing Tricks On Me by Geto Boys, Regulators by Warren G & Nate Dogg, The Choice Is Yours by Black Sheep, I Got 5 On It by Luniz… I could go on and on, but these songs are still hits today. Or at least they are when I still hear them. LOL

I guess I’ll give him peace and let him enjoy the music of his generation, the way I enjoyed mine. I’ll randomly select the songs that I think are good and we can enjoy those together. Thank God we have our own phones, mp3’s and headphones etc. to listen to our own music in peace.

What are your favorite songs from your era?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

