Rape and Emmett Till by Angenita Williams

They’ve been all over the news. All over the radio. Columnists have attacked them. What are ‘they?’

Lyrics by Rick Ross, and Lil Wayne.

These two have featured on each other’s songs. I think it’s fair to say they are somewhat friends. And birds of a feather flock together.

And these two birds need a lesson in respect for the history of our people and for women.

I’m not gonna lie; I listened to both rappers (I dare not call them artists at this point).

“Go DJ! That’s my DJ…”

“My chick bad looking like a bag of money…”

Yeah, I got a little rap history in me. But when you have lyrics about beating a {bleep} up like Emmett Till, or slipping a girl a Molly and having fun with her while she doesn’t know, ok, therein lies a problem.

Yes, we have freedom of speech. Yes we have the freedom to be ‘artistic.’ But when rape victims seldom come forward because of ridicule, and you mock the death of a young man killed because of his skin color, and his alleged disrespect of a white woman, you have taken it too far.

According to RAINN’s (Rape, Abuse, and Incest National Network) website, someone is sexually assaulted every two minutes. Fifty-four percent of rape victims never come forward, and ninety-seven percent of rapists never spend a day in jail (www.rainn.org)  Have you read Revealing &Healing: 3 Women’s Stories of Survival? Pick it up, and understand how sexual assault damages a young girl…she develops into a woman who is damaged. And furthermore, incapacitating a woman to have sex with her is very…lame…weak…and lets the world know…that you can’t get any…because a woman has to be out of it to give it to you. Making her unable to say no proves you are not a man, but a coward who cannot, and will not stand up and admit that you were wrong for the suggestion.

Suggestive lyrics are nothing new. Been around since the beginning of time. However, I think that someone has to take a stand and say, enough is enough. Although they deny it, celebrities influence a lot of people, and not just the youth.

Rick Ross gave weak men a way to go ahead and get it, without even asking for it. That baffles me to no end. There was nothing misunderstood about that lyric, and for him to think so shows me that he’s been popping too many Mollies.

Now, Lil Wayne, on the other hand, just messed all the way up. How on earth can you say that you would beat it up like Emmitt Till when he was KILLED over it?  That correlation is unsettling to say the least.

Does he not know the history? Does he not know the story? Oh, yeah, I forgot, he on that Molly mess, too.

Bottom line, there are always historical references in music…from the beginning of our world, to World War II, to the Civil War, and the Civil Rights struggle.

I find this to be the worst.

Well, I guess I’ll get off my soapbox now.  I mean, I’m just one writer out of many that is talking about this…

Hey, maybe I should incite a boycott…

“Every day, I’m hustle-lin.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

