Do You Really Want What You Ask For? by Delina Hill-Brooker

“You have not because you ask not.” James 4:2.

Prayer can sometimes be a funny thing. Sometimes you can be vague in your request. ~ Vague prayers, get vague answers. Last week my husband and I joined forces and specifically asked for something that we both agreed on (we had been wanted something to happen, but never prayed on it – together). Literally, at 8am the next morning we received a response, two days later, we got EXACTLY what we asked for. I was shocked, a little, but not really. (Because I have that kind of faith). 😉 But it really made me think, that I really need to be careful with WHAT I pray for. I could ask for something without thinking it through and it COULD show up instantly. So now I am consciously thinking before I pray and making a better effort to be very specific in what I ask for.

In retrospect, my daughter and I were in Wal-Mart yesterday and  she asked if she could buy something. I asked her what her what was she wanting to buy, she pointed to almost everything and nothing in particular. Hmmmm I told her, “If I bought you EVERYTHING that you ever asked for, you wouldn’t appreciate what you have, and you’d have too much stuff.”

“But I just want something!”

My point? Don’t ask for it, until you know exactly what you want, and appreciate what you have.

Do you really want what you ask for?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

