The Breakthrough by Angenita Williams

Last Sunday, I went to brunch with a friend. I actually interviewed him for our upcoming Lioness Vizions spotlight. Brunch was fabulous, and our conversation was thoughtful and engaging.  After brunch, I went home for a while. I attempted to take a nap, but I couldn’t. I remembered that I promised the team I supervised at work Long’s Donuts for doing a good job over the past month. My brother needed me as well, so I hopped up and drove to be by his side.

On the way there, I got a Facebook message from a woman named Faith. She and I did some interviewing together, and when she inboxed me, it seemed urgent. The messaged read “Call Me.” I called, but she didn’t pick up.

I talked with my brothers and my cousin for a minute before making the trek to the West Side. I called again. This time she answered. And that’s when everything changed.

See, I’ve been struggling in a lot of ways. I’ve been going through some things. No one knew because I didn’t speak it. I stayed smiling and positive. I refused to let the mess bring me down – and this is new for me. I refused to wallow in my sorrow or be a victim. I’d been that most of my life. Happiness was my destination.

What she said struck me. I was caught completely off guard.

“Honey, the Lord spoke to me. I had to talk to you. I don’t know what’s going on with you. We don’t talk like that. I just want to let you know that whatever you are going through, whatever is going on, keep moving. He’s got you. You have so much love pouring from you, and whoever that person that’s coming into your life will drench you in it. Your spirit is so loving. Sista, you are there. It’s coming for you…”

Tears fell immediately. I was overwhelmed with a feeling I cannot explain. The more Faith spoke to me, the more I felt it. I could do nothing but cry. I thanked her, and promised some updates. She was excited, and I felt her genuine love through the phone.

When I called Delina, she said, “Welcome to your breakthrough!”

At that point I realized that this was the moment I was waiting for. I crossed the healing threshold; the point where everything I went through no longer mattered. No matter what, I was determined to be a happy woman. I was determined that whatever wrong I did, I would own up to it, and forgive myself. I prayed many days to be happy. God has kept me, and showed me that happiness is in me. I just had to allow it to come through. He showed me that He has my back, no matter what. He spoke to me. He gave me dreams and put people in my life to boost me towards them. You see, for a girl like me who never had faith in anything, putting my faith in God was big. And I saw His work firsthand. He showed me the beauty in being who I am. HE saved me.

Life is funny sometimes. But one thing is for sure, it’s worth living…and I am finally doing just that.

 

breakthrough

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

