Missing the Bus by Angenita Williams

I was talking to an old friend. There was some flirting going on, and he jokingly said that I was gonna miss the bus. I replied with, “Dude, I have a car. I don’t need a bus…”

And after our conversation, I thought about it. How many buses did I miss because I had a car? I wondered if I missed the bus that would take me to where I wanted to be because I was so insistent on driving myself there. After all, riding the bus in Indianapolis is rough. All buses, with the exception of maybe one or two, use downtown as the hub. There you see all kinds of mixtures of people amongst the buildings that stretch far into the sky. People transfer from one bus to another to get to their destinations. Those that have extended waits sit or stand in the shelters. The shelters don’t cover everything, and on cold, rainy, or snowy days, people are huddled there to try to keep dry and warm – some don’t get protected. Gotta be prepared; gotta make sure you definitely dress for the weather.

Depending on where you are trying to go, you should leave home up to maybe three hours before you have to be somewhere. There are quite a few stops on the way. People get on, people get off. Exchanges are made. The rides are not comfortable at all. And if the air or heat is broken, then your ride is just that much longer. And if one connection is late, you will be, too. So patience is definitely a virtue.

The bus is not designated to get you exactly where you want to go, but to get you close enough to walk to your destination. Sometimes it’s a few blocks, sometimes, it’s a few miles. You have to have on good shoes to walk. Not only that, you have to have a sense of direction…especially if where you are going is new. You gotta know how to get there. You have to plan the trip.

But…when you have a car, you go straight to where you want to go…without stops that give you patience. It’s quite easy to get lost because you hop in, and drive, not necessarily planning or preparing with a sense of direction. And, you can’t enjoy the scenery because your mind is so focused on the road…Maybe I should park the car.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

