Pieces of Me by Angenita Williams

Pieces

 

I had the pleasure of attending a fundraiser for an organization called Women Reaching Out. The annual fundraiser is called Pieces of Me.

There were women who stood and gave their testimonies about how they got to what they are, what they went through, and how they overcame obstacles.

This got me to thinking…what are the pieces of me? What makes me keep going? What makes me grow, live, motivated?

My past is a piece of me. My kids are pieces of me. My grandchildren are pieces of me. My hurt, anger,  insecurity and shame – pieces of me. My love, spirit, strength and dedication – pieces of me.

As I sat in the audience, it resounded with me, again that I cannot be a whole person if I can’t acknowledge those pieces of me that are not that great. Everyone has certain areas of where they are weak and where they are strong. The weak areas should be acknowledged – if nothing else.

Knowing who and what you are comprised of assists with the healing process. It’s really easy to say what you are and what you are not. The hard part is admitting that what you are when what you are isn’t positive, happy, or eager. It’s hard admitting that you are in pain and ashamed when you portray something different. It’s always best to be authentic…basically…practice what you preach.

Acknowledging what makes you YOU is the best thing you can do.

#Reveal and #Heal

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

