‘Sho ‘Nuff! by Delina Hill-Brooker

Former perm queen, now a concerned mother

Conflicted because of what my mother said in the past

And the beauty I see in my daughter

Unwilling to get back to me just to be part of the latest trend

Unsupported by my husband

Ain’t nothin’ to it, but to do it – Big Chop – Whoa

Did I just do what I think I did?

Yes and it feels good!

Liberated, free, reconnected, brave, ahhhhhhhhh

Uh oh, what did I just do?

Leave the house, compliments

I twist it, it grows,

The compliments flow

I bantu knot, it’s something new

The people who don’t approve are only just a few

But the best part, my little beauty gets it.

We are now naturally beautiful together.

Wild hair, don’t care

‘Fro, crinkles, flat twists, twists, braids, knots, and sometimes straight

One year later, I am so happy that I am free, I will never go back.

My ‘sho ‘nuff, is ‘sho ‘nuff beautiful

Happy One Year Anniversary to my natural hair! Welcome back!

 

Collage 2013-10-14 07_44_40Collage 2013-07-23 01_32_23 Collage 2013-08-02 09_40_351381752225081

10 comments so far

  1. Tonya on

    Loved it! You look beautiful! (I’m not ready yet but this blog is very encouraging.)

  2. Will on

    not the face for natural hair

  3. LionessDelina on

    Will, How does one not have the “face” to wear their natural hair? We’ve been brainwashed to believe that straight hair, thin lips & light skin are the only acceptable standards of beauty partially because the slave owners wanted us to feel inferior by dogging us out and that’s all that we see in Hollywood. But SOME white people are constantly getting lip, butt and other injections to have features that we are naturally blessed with. People get weaves and wigs to have thicker, fuller and even “nappy” hair. Ignorance and lack of self love from people such as yourself just continue to make black women uncomfortable about their true self so they continue to put harsh and harmful chemicals on their hair and skin. And like I said in the blog, I’ve gotten way more compliments on my hair and myself since going natural than I ever did in all my years of having a perm. I don’t judge or care how people wear their hair. That’s the beauty of being free, having options and self expression. I’m not mad at your comment, I actually I appreciate you taking the time out to read and respond to the blog. But I did this for my daughter and for myself. You don’t have to like it. Either way I’m cool. And that’s the truth.

    • Mia Lockhart on

      You look beautiful I want so bad to have you and mommy’s facial structure, like I would kill to look like y’all. Lol
      Unfortunately when I was a little girl I would go to school and hear things from white girls like
      “Why is your hair rough? ”
      “Do you wash your hair, is it black because its dirty? ”
      “Why is it so bunchy?”
      To an adult these are just questions, but as a child, situations like this made me very uncomfortable and made me feel very much like an outsider. As I got older I changed my appearance to look more like what everyone thought looked beautiful for me. As an adult I still struggle (gasps! ) but I will continue to do what makes me feel good for me.
      I don’t want children, but if I have any and one of them is a girl, she will know and value the beauty she was born with and she will love it from the start! Sade has an awesome mom because I have an awesome auntie, and she has an awesome sister and I want to be just like y’all when I grow up! 🙂

  4. Delitra on

    happy one year anniversary! What a lot of people don’t understand is how harsh of a chemical a relax is. so many woman are relaxing there daughters hair at very young ages because they don’t know how to take care of it. As a hairstylist i understand that black women have become so accustom to the chemical crack they find it impossible to live with what God gave them. you’re hair is thicker and much healthier without a relaxer. not only is it harming your hair and scalp but the chemical also enters the body. and you are right to do this for your daughter it is so important that we learn to live in our natural state. working in the beauty industry i see how dependent all women are on chemicals from relaxers to botox and many other chemical treatments that change are appearance. why do most women put these chemicals in there body? because that’s what a man wants to see. we must learn to love ourselves no matter what man woman or corporate America thinks. we are beautiful the way God made us!

  5. Marquetta on

    Will unfortunately your ignorance shines through, and that’s ok. Nevertheless Lioness I think your hair and anyone else’s for that matter is a personal choice. It may not be everyone’s flavor whether it be societies conditions of what is considered beautiful, self hate, or personal choice. Either way its not for me or anyone else to decide or judge. Do you, it’s important that you show your daughter that its OK to be you as you are created and if you decide to enhance it, its OK, but still have self love. THAT’S whats important to teach our children. Good job Lioness for showing your daughter through demonstration the love of self.

  6. LionessDelina on

    Thank you all so much for your feedback and support. Mia I had no idea that, that is what was going on. If I would’ve known that I would’ve come up to that school & beat up those rug rats!!!!! I love you and you are beautiful!!!! Delitra, you KNOW that I was perm queen. I looked good with or without a perm, but I do not miss chemical burns or new growth. Marquetta – Thank you love. You’re right it is a personal choice. I didn’t do it for the new “natural hair craze” I did it for my daughter, which in return helped me too. I support anyone who feels comfortable enough to be who they were truly intended to be, goes against the grain and against the norm. We all must love ourselves first. If we don’t, how can we expect anyone else to?

  7. Tawaina Hollis on

    Keep going in spite of! Becoming a Mommy sparked my natural journey initially, so the poem hits home!!! You’re ROCKIN’ it!!!

  8. crystal graves on

    lady your hair and face are lovely

  9. LionessDelina on

    Thanks again everyone!!!! 😀


Leave a Reply

