We Made It! by Delina Hill-Brooker

We Made It pix

I usually don’t get sentimental or worked up over birthdays, first day of school and things like that, but yesterday was a little different. Yesterday my oldest son turned 18 years old. For the past 17 years I’ve just floated by celebrating and counting each year, but like I said this time was different.

This time was different because I came to the realization that, “We made it!” I was only 16 years old when I had him. I was afraid yet determined. I can remember so many adults ensuring me that, “It’s going to be ok.” His biological father passed when he was only 1 ½ years old. I met my husband when my son was 5. I was determined to be a good mom. A mom who showed him that his life can be different from both his father’s and mine. He made me grow up and grow up quickly! But I didn’t and couldn’t do it by myself. See, God blessed US with a wonderful village of people.
It’s true what they say, “It takes a village to raise a child.” Our village has come through in ways that I couldn’t have asked for or expected. So when I say that “We made it!” I mean we, as in my son DeVon, me and every member of our village. Everyone who called to check up on us, babysat, bought diapers and formula, mentored, coached, tutored, traveled, picked up, dropped off, spanked, lectured and loved DeVon unconditionally.

A lot of children feel some type of lack because their father isn’t around. Our village filled that hole. There was no lack. We raised a well-rounded, independent, smart, funny, talented and handsome young man. I couldn’t have done it without you. We couldn’t have done it without you. There are no words to express how grateful my husband, DeVon and I are for you; and we know that Mike is thankful for you as well.

Here’s a song that I wrote and recorded some years back for DeVon. (Sorry WordPress won’t let me upload the audio) Happy birthday son.

 

DeVon’s Song
By delina – 2003

Hook:
This love song is dedicated to my DeVon
You’ve been through so much at so young
That’s why I know, you’ll always be strong
DeVon, listen to me closely
My son, you’re my inspiration
I’ll always love you no matter what you say or do

Verse One:
When I look at you the first thing I see is how much you look like daddy
Now he had to leave us here early
But you can still be happy
‘Cause from heaven he’s watching you grow
And I know, that he’d want you to know
How much he really loves you
Trust what I’m saying is true

Hook

Verse Two:
Now at second glance guess what I see
Mamma’s personality
Like a mirror mocking back at me
And it’s funny how you act like me
Since day one, you’ve been the light of my life
Die for you son and I wouldn’t think twice
And I thank God you’re alive
‘Cause you made me survive

Bridge:
Hold your head up high
Always walk with pride
Keep God first in your heart, in your life
Spread your wings and fly

Hook

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

