Grateful and Thankful by Angenita Williams

Image

I think it may be a tad bit cliché to write about Thanksgiving after the holiday. But I can’t help it. I am thankful for all I have. My family. The fact that I have a job to support my daughter. My life. The gift I was given to write. The size of the heart that beats in my chest. My mind. And last but never least, the fact that God has blessed me to keep waking up each day.

There was a time where I felt as if I didn’t have enough. I wasn’t living how I wanted to live, or working where I wanted to work. I had children I was raising by myself for the most part. I was responsible for everything and shouldering the weight of having to be everything to everyone else. I was too depressed, too unhappy, too faithless to be grateful for anything. I felt that if anything good happened to me, I deserved it for all the mess I went through.  I mean, I worked hard, right? I sacrificed, right?

I did work hard, and I did sacrifice. But without God holding me up and giving me the strength to keep going, I wouldn’t be here.

One thing I realized is that having a humbled and thankful spirit gets you farther than being nonchalant and overly about self. I try to help as much as I can, often putting myself in a rough spot. But I feel horrible if there is something I can do to help a situation and I stand by and do nothing.

So, I am thankful for everything I am able to do. I am grateful for my struggles for they make me who I am. As I grow, my heart gets more humble, and I am more thankful.

One thing I was truly thankful for is that on Thanksgiving Eve, my mother advised me that she was coming to my home to cook Thanksgiving dinner. We did have the discussion about the dinner, but I was under the impression that we would start early Thanksgiving morning. She changed the plan. (LOL, Gotta love Mom.) My mother, my daughter, and I cooked Thanksgiving dinner together. We talked, laughed, and whipped up a marvelous dinner. What’s more, we bonded like we never have before; just the three of us.

And for that, I am truly thankful.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

