Christmas is A Gift of Love by Delina Hill-Brooker

christmas is a gift of lovechristmas is a gift of love

 

Can you imagine, being a young girl back in the biblical days and getting word from an angel of the Lord that YOU, a virgin, have been chosen to be impregnated by the Holy Spirit with the son of God?

I can’t imagine going through that it this day, so I ESPECIALLY couldn’t imagine going through it back then. Getting pregnant out of wedlock back then was … whew.

Honestly, me and God would have had some words. It would’ve gone something like, “So, you want me, to tell Joseph, that I’m pregnant by the Holy Ghost. You want me to publicly admit this and get looked at, and talked about? How are you just going to impregnate me without my permission? I know that He is Your son, and is coming to save the world, but what’s in it for me? I’ve been trying to live right, but you still knock me up for what reason exactly?
But she didn’t. Mary accepted the calling on her life and carried it out. Talk about an unselfish act towards humanity. And I can’t leave out Joseph, who also didn’t shame her and leave her. He also played his part; a very important part.
Jesus gave man so much of Himself without question, or second guessing. I’m sure He could’ve gotten away if He wanted and not be crucified, but He didn’t. Instead He died for us.

I said all of this to say, Jesus, Mary and Joseph all had a specific calling on their lives. And even if they felt some type of way about what their mission was, they carried it out and God had the victory in the end. No matter what your calling is, he will never give you more of a calling than you can handle. (That’s why I’m not Mary) =)

Christmas is so much more than giving gifts, wearing red, spending green and cooking a big meal. Christmas is a time to show love. The birth of a child is love. Loving someone with all of their faults and flaws is love. Giving your life for someone else is love. Love is the greatest gift of all. Love doesn’t have a price tag. Love conquers all.

Show someone love, and get to carrying out your calling for your life.

Merry Christmas and God bless!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

