Violence…Gotta Stop…by Angenita Williams

Gang members on the street, focus on guns - stock photo

I am appalled, saddened, heartbroken. Angry. Confused. Distraught.

My city is turning into a war zone. It brings up so much pain. I lost my young cousin at the age of twenty-two a few years ago due to violence. Every young man maimed by a bullet reminds me of him. Just last week, a friend of mine lost his sixteen-year-old brother. I ask myself when will it end.

I hate to watch the news now. I’m so afraid for my young son, his brothers, his closest friends. I am afraid for my brothers. My cousins. My friends. My sisters. My mothers. My grandmothers.

No one should have to endure the pain and agony of loosing their loved one in a senseless manner. And the sad part about the whole situation is that…absolutely NOTHING is being done to curb the violence. The ‘education’ system…or the pipeline to prison…is failing our kids miserably. The parents without a clue are failing our kids miserably. The VILLAGE is FAILING our KIDS.

Our young ladies do not respect themselves or love themselves enough to know that being a ‘bitch’ or a ‘bad bitch’ or a ‘main bitch’ is not an honor, it’s a disgrace. They are having babies by grown ass boys who probably didn’t have daddy there to show them the way…or maybe they did, and follow in his footsteps they shall. The family structure is deteriorating. And the kids are suffering.

And the legislature wants to ‘protect’ the nature of marriage between men and women. I’m sorry, but…it doesn’t look like the institution of heterosexual marriage is working. If the sex partners make it to the altar, there is a 50% chance it’s gonna end before either of them get to ’til death do us part.’

And when it’s all said and done….we’ve got angry boys out here mad at a world that frankly doesn’t give a damn about them. The President of the United States even acknowledged that our little black and brown boys have to fight extra hard just to make it. And when momma and daddy can’t get it together, grow up, and realize that this life is not about them, we leave the children to be raised by song lyrics, and aspirations to be a Basketball Wife, or to be on Bad Girls Club.

Seriously? We brought our kids into this?

What happened to the community that fought together to ensure we all got rights? The women with linked arms to make sure we could get jobs and work just like the men? What happened to the leaders who only want to pray and walk away? God can and will help the situation, but faith without works is dead. So we can either keep praying, and standby as our kids fall victim to what society wants them to, or we can rise as a community, build that strong family unit, and take it back from those who seek to destroy it.

I have two grandsons. Four nephews. And I cry because I know that before they will be men, they will be judged based on how they look. They are smart kids. Funny. Full of personality. I love them with all my heart. But my heart also weeps for them. I mean, it seems like if they make it to thirty, they will be considered seniors.

America…we’ve got to do better.

1 comment so far

  1. Darlene on

    I agree wholeheartedly…my son is rapidly being sucked into this vacuum of disillusionment, self hatred and hopelessness that has become prevalent not only in our city but nationally.

    We have allowed a worldly culture to raise a generation of desperate and bitter children who admittedly are the main perpetrators of this bloodbath but not totally responsible for the emergence of this kill or be killed mentality.

    As a nation we have drifted further and further away from being God fearing with idols of financial success(no matter how it’s gained) and notoriety are being worshipped; being bad has become the new good.

    I believe, however that it did not start with this generation, but instead is a pathology of bloodlines where few have dared to stand up and say, “It stops here with me!” The histories of ourselves as well as generations before us may not appear to be similar in action but if one looks closer they will notice they are in intent. The motivators have not changed; rejection, abandonment, abuse(in all forms), etc. and until we as parents choose to sit in that truth and say, “That was then and this is now; I will no longer bury my head in the sand and hope for change; instead I will become an agent of the change that I want to see. No more of the enablement to fail, these are our children being massacred. We always hear it said that our future is in their hands. If that’s true what kind of future are we looking at?

    2 Chronicles 7:14 says, “IF my people, which are called by my name shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways, THEN I will hear from heaven, and I will forgive their sin and will heal their land. It is time for those of us who believe what Gods’ Word says to take a stand for righteousness. Lets’ get to the heart of the matter instead of relying on an outward appearance alone to have any lasting impact.


Leave a Reply

