Motherhood Reflection by Delina Hill-Brooker

2390728_1212077

 

It seems like just yesterday I was this scared teen, afraid to tell my mother that I was pregnant. I had gotten caught up, so fast, so easy, ‘it won’t happen to me.’ Well it did. The scariest thing that I could have imagined at that time happened to me. It was rough being pregnant an still in high school, the looks adults and even my peers gave me like I was some lost, wet, shivering puppy dog stranded on the side of the road. Their silence was loud, and the few words that they did speak went in one ear and out the other.

It took some time, but I decided before I actually delivered that I would not be a victim of the system, or a statistic. The more that I thought about it, I realized that this “situational dilemma” was actually, a beautiful gift from God. I decided then and there that not only I would survive, but WE would survive and come out on top. From that day forward I started making plans of how I would still graduate on time, and make a better life for us. I took my job seriously, I had to keep him protected, love him, as well as, show and teach him a better way. I literally poured all of me, and some into him. While I was on maternity leave I did home school, and would go to school with my baby to take my tests. Anytime I would get discouraged or unsure of myself my mother, my mother-in-love and the other mothers in our village would simply say, “You’re gonna be alright! You’ll look back on this one day and look back on this one day and you’ll laugh at the worry you feel right now.” For the life of me, I couldn’t see how that could be. Especially after I was hit with another blow of my fiancé (my sons father) passing prematurely.

Eighteen years later, after I decided to grow up quickly, I’m looking back and laughing at all of the worries that I had then. All of the love, nurturing, perseverance, hard work, bumps, bruises and help from our villagers paid off. My “baby” boy is graduating high school and has been accepted to BOTH schools of his choice!

 
He’s so very talented, funny, smart , hardworking, an excellent role model for his younger siblings and to top it off, he’s handsome too. He’s a perfect mixture of me, his biological father and my husband. He has been a joy to raise, and a perfect gift from God. He’s exactly what I needed.

I just want to thank everyone in our village, there are too many to list, and you know who you are. We love and appreciate you. Thank you for all of the love, encouragement, well wishes, babysitting, teaching, spankings, support (emotional and financial), tough love, words of wisdom, protection and guidance. We wouldn’t be where we are without you. It is true what they say, it takes a village to raise a child!

2 comments so far

  1. Rae on

    This was well said and worth reading. So many young ladies need to hear this that is in this situation and think it’s over. You need to do a seminar and then sell books. This was really good Delina, really good. Congrats to your son, I only was around him as our neighbor for a short period of time, but he was so shy and look at him now, wow, he is the real deal. Congrats to your family!

    Rae and Anthony

  2. Helen J on

    Very well shared.


Leave a Reply

