Dominique Quena Allen by Angenita Williams

At Approximately 12:30 pm on Sunday, August 31, 2104, police were dispatched to a home on the West side of Indianapolis. There was a badly burned body located behind a home. The victim, a female, was deceased.

This story panged my heart. “Another senseless killing of a woman,” I thought.

As the story unfolded, it was determined that this was no the body of a woman, but that of a fifteen-year-old freshman. I was heartbroken. My daughter is almost fifteen.

I posted on Facebook about how my heart went to that family, and that the family was most definitely in my prayers. I could not imagine the pain they must feel.

Then I got the inbox. Her name was Dominique Allen, and she was the sister of one of my oldest and best friends. Shenika Poindexter.

Tears welled in my eyes as I saw my friend on TV. Her tears staining her face asking why her sister’s murderer did this to her. The anger in her when she advised the killer that they will be brought to justice, whether in this life or the next. The agony as she described her sister as loving and kind – the type of person to take up for a person being bullied. The comments made by other family members about what her aspirations were in life were heartfelt. Everything about this young lady cut short due to violence that she didn’t deserve. What makes this even worse is that Dominique lost her mother just two years ago. Her father has suffered a heaping amount of loss in two years; retiring so that he could take care of his teen daughter. And she was taken from him needlessly, callously, and cowardly.

Her murderer is still out there somewhere and could be hurting someone else.

The family still needs donations to pay for the funeral. If you can donate, please go to http://www.gofundme.com/dz6r4k, or at PNC Bank: Memorial Fund for Dominique Q. Allen.

If you have any clues or leads in this case, please contact CrimeStoppers at 317-262-TIPS (317-262-8477) or Detective Marcus Kennedy at 317-327-3475.

My words for this killer are:

No matter where you go. No matter where you hide. You will get your just due. We will not stand for it…and remember, what happens in the dark always comes to light. You took a precious life that didn’t deserve it. So, I urge you to come forward before you are found. Do the right thing…because you did the unthinkable to begin with.

DQA

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

