From 2014 to 2015 by Angenita Williams and Delina Brooker

Wow. Another year has gone. How quickly time flies.

2014 opened my eyes to so many things. Meeting new people. Being afforded new opportunities – some just falling into my lap without provocation. As I reflect, my 2015 is already loaded with things to do. I am totally blessed and thankful.

This has been a pretty good year. No real complaints except for my health faltering a little, but I’m getting on track with it. I have a goal, and I am about a quarter of the way there. My daughter is growing up, and it really hit me that I will be an empty nester in a few years. That really came fast! 🙂

I realize that staying positive and being steadfast gets one to where they want to go. I look back, and see myself a few years ago, and I am so amazed at the woman I have become. So strong. So confident. So resilient. And I can only see more for me. 2014 showed me how things can move in the right direction as long as you stay focused, and keep pushing forward.

On the flip side, 2014 also showed me through the tragedy of the deaths of our young black people, that I have a lot of work to do. These tragedies brought out the worst in people, and showed me even more how much racism is alive and well. It did make me afraid for my son and daughter; my brothers, cousins, grandsons, uncles, and my dad; my mom, my aunts; and me. We have got to come together as a people to fight this. Build up our communities from the inside out. If we can stay on the same accord, it can be done.

So with that, I say, Goodbye 2014. You’ve been enlightening, heartbreaking, progressive, and disturbing. I’m ready to see what 2015 brings. I’m sure it will be nothing short of remarkable.

~ Angenita

2014 Ohhhhh 2014. At first thought 2014 was a really rough year for me. I don’t always share or show it, but there were a lot of ups, downs and uncertainties, but when I look at it in its totality, I’ve celebrated more this year than any other year. My oldest son graduated high school and went to college, my brother got married, and of course the Holiday’s. We’ve had friends and family from Indianapolis come and visit more this year than any other year. So although there have been some tribulations, the good outweigh the bad and I’ve learned so much about myself and have grown as a Christian and in my faith.

There are a lot of things that I can hope for and strive for in 2015, but those things are already in the works, and I know that all of my biggest hopes, dreams and desires are in God’s hands and will work out in His timing. Although I’ve always been a believer, I am just now coming to grips with this part of my faith. I am not in control. I cannot control anything. An even bigger lesson is all of the trials and hard times are all essential lessons that I had to learn in order to get to where I want to be…See what I mean? God’s timing. So I’m thankful for the lessons and celebrations of 2014 and I am looking forward to what 2015 has in store for me. And as always never put off what you can start doing now for the New Year to start. You have 365 days to make a new start, so why not start today, or any day?

~ Delina

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

