Dreams Deferred by Angenita Williams

What happens to a dream deferred?
Does it dry up
Like a raisin in the sun?
Or fester like a sore–
And then run?
Does it stink like rotten meat?
Or crust and sugar over–
like a syrupy sweet?
Maybe it just sags
like a heavy load.
Or does it explode?

~ Langston Hughes

Indeed.

As I pondered very hard decisions that had to be made, as I looked at where I stood in life; as I realized that retirement age is only 20 – 25 years away; as I thought about my life, and it’s direction – my mind brought me to this poem.

What happens to a dream deferred?

My deferred dream almost became a distant memory. I lacked the knowledge and self worth to really understand that what I dreamed of doing I could actually do.

Does it dry up like a raisin in the sun?

 In my case, it almost did. I need security to take care of my home; my family. But, the security really isn’t security, is it? It’s only as secure as your company that you work for says. Because, if they decide that hard business decisions have to be made, then your job could really be out the door in a heartbeat.

And living a dream seems like such a fairy tale end to a life lived. Very few actually get do to do that. I ask what is the difference between me and them? Fearlessness. Tenacity. Strength. Life. My history. Excuses.

Or fester like a sore–And then run?

The gaping hole in my soul was formed by the desire to live my dreams. Float amongst what I need to do in life. It stayed there and festered…not allowing itself to close. It grew wider until I could no longer ignore it.

Does it stink like rotten meat? Or crust and sugar over–like a syrupy sweet?

Dreams should always crust and sugar over. Even though getting there would be hard, the end result – sweet.

Maybe it just sags like a heavy load. Or does it explode

If the dream sags, it may not be your dream. Reevaluate. If it’s a burden, then it really isn’t your dream.

It explodes… a true winner. The final confirmation.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

